Is my condy anemone okay ?

amdp9

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings everyone,

I am very new to Saltwater Aquarium, my 32G bio cube is about 8 weeks old. I have three Anenome’s in my tank along with two clown fish, horseshoe crab, goby and postal shrimp/ couple of snails & star. Other two Anenmoe’s are fine and looks okay but this one last night was all fluff. Today I couldn’t find him all day thought that he moved to new location. But when I flipped the back rock found out he was closed like a ball. Then he did open up like this condition and no movement. Do I need to be worried about it?
I did water change today. After checking the perimeters. My PH was low to 7.8. My fish store guy recommended to change 5gal of water and add Marine Buffer to help with PH. Rest of the perimeters were normal but this Anemone is deflated.
Should I be worried that he is dying or is it normal for them to shrunk in a ball and look like this. Please advice.

IMG_7912.jpeg

Last edited:

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
7.8 pH is low, but not low enough to worry about. Despite what your LFS said, DO NOT GO CHASING pH levels. Just keep everything else in the proper range and stable... especially Ca and alk, and you'll be OK in the long run. Your anemone may be fine, may be in some trouble. But I'd say it's a 80:20 chance that everything will be OK in time. Anemones have a mind of their own.

OP
OP
A

amdp9

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
7.8 pH is low, but not low enough to worry about. Despite what your LFS said, DO NOT GO CHASING pH levels. Just keep everything else in the proper range and stable... especially Ca and alk, and you'll be OK in the long run. Your anemone may be fine, may be in some trouble. But I'd say it's a 80:20 chance that everything will be OK in time. Anemones have a mind of their own.