ISO HUGE tank photos! / story time

Lugubrious

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm looking for dimensional inspiration for building a new tank.

Show me your massive set ups, 350 gallon plus! I can't decide how big/how to style the set up but I want it to feel large and deep (LOL)

Story time; we just bought a house and I want to build a more permanent system.

I've been reefing for 3 years and have by large had tremendous success, but ended sadly. My previous system was a 400 gallons split between two tanks (250,50 frag flat) and two large sumps. It was a beautiful thriving system of high ends, lots of euphyllia, rainbow chalice variants, high end zoas, and of course SPS. I had the mixed reef going well and a HUGE tang gang, I had 6 zebrasomas, Achilles, blue tang pairs. It was a dream.

Well, my greed of wanting a ritteri got the best of me, I could. Not. Keep a ritteri alive period. Hospital tanks, cipro treatments, you name it. They all did exactly the same thing let go, flopped mouth first into the sand overnight and started puking and melting. Like clockwork. I occasionally had some torches decide to bail around this time and looking back I think I had a RTN/STN/bacterial issue either in my sand or generally in the water colum.

Well I got another ritteri this time skipped all the BS just chucked him in the frag tank, and it was doing great for a few days I had my hopes up.

I come home one day to him stuck to my gyre. I totally spaced on putting my nem guards in. I gad been so diligent about protecting them in the DT that I didn't even think about me not doing the frag tanks pumps.

Within 5 minutes of my return, the frag tank was already very cloudy white and I saw distressed swimming in a few fish.

I pulled the nem, trash can had bigger problems to focus on.

Started gathering dead fish and throwing the live guys in the DT.