It has been a while

Whirly

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Whats up everyone?
I havent posted anything in quite a while, transitioned to a new job, then promoted within that company, bought a house, got a dog.
my tanks have been sitting in the garage awaiting my attention, and finally i have settled in to the point where i can started working to prepare myself for the road to come with this hobby.

Presently i have a 300DD sitting in my garage on rollers, that being said, i am on a crawlspace so a great deal of work needs to be done to the substructure of my flooring to support such weights, and while being on a crawlspace does have its drawbacks, it does has benefits as well. a little background on myself, im working on an aerospace engineering degree, and i work in the Aerospace industry as a senior quality inspector. im still pretty young at 28, and i know that ill be staying at this house for many years to come, so that being said. i want to make to make my main living room tank something special to me. therefor.....
I am buying a 440gal acrylic system from a friend who used to run a reefing company that dealt with salt many many years ago. tank is in mint shape, he has since switched from doing saltwater to making the system into a planted tank and is now ready to part with it. its in perfect shape, and has been holding water.
being that i am going through the trouble to pour a reinforced concrete pad with crushed gravel under the house, and supporting the floor, i want to run a dedicated line from the garage for a high amp circuit that solely runs the tank and nothing else.

doing this i will also be building a 72hr battery backup system for my fridge/freezer, the return pump, and the heaters. and installing a automatic transfer switch for them.