Just got finished taking my saltwater test results. Could use some advice!

deaniscool

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So this is my first time testing water from this tank that I've had running at my house for approximately 4 days. The person I bought it from had it running for ~1 month or so. Unfortunately my Nitrate is really high, but the pH, Ammonia and Nitrite look O.K. to me. Was wondering what you guys think, and wondering about any recommendations for next steps. The tank came with one damselfish, not sure the breed, and he seems to still be doing fine. There is some algae growth starting which I'm assuming is from my high Nitrate levels. Salt is at 1.025.
esqGQ82.jpg

TgkbzDE.jpg

Diesel

ME=1, CANCER=0.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just one damsel I believe he mentioned that.
The numbers are not bad but I would concentrate on getting ammonia and the Nitrate under control a bit more.
Can you post a picture from your setup?
It will give us a better idea how it all looks like.
Thank you.

OP
OP
deaniscool

deaniscool

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Diesel Sorry for the delayed response, 20 Gallon. Living in it is a Damsel, clown, green emerald crab, 4 nasarius snails and two chromi's that were just added. I did a 20% water change today, I am going to do a 20% change each day this week I think hoping to get phosphates down. I am running a filter, a NS-80 Reef octopus HOB Skimmer, Aqua Clear filter, hydor 240 gph on the left side, on the right side I'm not sure what size power head, it's significantly bigger. Here is a picture I took earlier:
RwkUwTY.jpg

wDnLDGf.jpg

Last edited:

Diesel

ME=1, CANCER=0.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think you doing great so far.
Hold off on everyday a water change.
IMO you tank isn't cycled all the way through.
Keep a eye out on the ammonia and nitrite for now.