Kavo11's Red Sea Reefer 250 - My FIRST tank ever!

Kavo11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome all! I've decided to jump into the fish world head first and go straight to SW. Yes, this is my first time ever keeping a tank with the exception of maybe a goldfish years ago? Anyways, My parents were kind enough to buy me a white RSR250 as a Christmas gift which I should hopefully be picking up tonight. I was hoping to pick it up last night, but the shop we bought it from didn't have the pallet unloaded yet.

Goals for this build: My dad and I are treating this build as a joint project and we plan to do it right. That means no trying to cut corners in the hopes to get the tank "fully" running ASAP. We've read enough by now to understand that patience goes a long way in this hobby. With that being said though, we're of course anxious to get it set up in a timely manner, so this will not be a super drawn out process. We'll go as quick as we can while still taking our time in proper decision making if that makes sense.

Shout out to Ryan and the rest of the BRS team! We've found their YouTube videos to be highly informative and we plan to continue building our knowledge arsenal by tapping into the R2R community.

So far, here is our tentative list of equipment with many more decisions to come of course:

Tank: white RSR 250
Sand: 40LB Caribsea Special Grade Arag-Alive! Live Reef Sand
Dry Live Rock: 55LB Walt Smith Project Reef Rock 2.1 Dry Rock
Return Pump: 1x Sicce Synchra Silent 4.0 (951GPH)
Lighting: 1x Kessil AP700
Heater: 2x Eheim Jager 150W