Keeping stability.

fsas89

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,
I am fairly new to keeping a reef tank and there are so many different things to read, videos to watch, info to soak in. It almost seems overwhelming at some points. That being said, I thought I had a pretty good handle on things, but I cant quite figure out my alk swings, seems it goes from 13-10.5 like within the week sometimes, my PH has always been a struggle as well. Currently my set up, I use a aqueon 75 HOB filter, along with a marineland magnum polishing internal canister (which I run carbon inside), and I use a aquaticlife internal mini skimmer all for my 36g tank. I have cut back on feeding, but try to do every other day frozen brine or mysis and reef roids 2 times a week, I also dose phyto 1-2 times a week in the water collum. Just used the red sea test kit and came up with these reading : Alk-13, Nitrate-2, Nitrite-0.02, Amonia-0, PH - 8, my calcium is usually over 500. phosphates - 0. I just added a phosguard package to my HOB filter, and started noticing some stringy dinos in some spots. This week I also started dosing a+b from kent for nano reefs, 9ml per day as according to the bottle. Sorry alot of info, but wanted to give a solid idea what im doing, and if I need to do anything different? Bottom line, my calcium is HIGH, my alk has swings along with my PH. what can I do to get these more stable? Thanks in advance for any help or pointers!

OP
OP
F

fsas89

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If your phosphates are really 0, then you should remove the Phosguard. Having too little phosphate will often trigger dinos, which it sounds like you are getting.

Dennis
So I just put the phosguard in because I was having a diatom issue and it is supposed to help get rid of silicates and it seems to have done the job, Dinos are seeming to go away too. I think because my nitrates are up?

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges