Kinda in between a rock and a hard place due to being a high school student

TortillaMan

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m a high school student and reefing is expensive! I’m close to being legally allowed to work in a few months so there’s that but in the meantime I’m trying to work out a stocking plan. I am considering QT’ing with CP and prazi with 2, 20g longs. My issue is cost and being in school. I’m pretty much gone from 8am-4pm. One option is buying pre QT’d fish from places like marine collectors or Dr.Reef. I had the idea to just get a pair of clowns and some gobies plus some cheap fish. Of course I don’t have 250 to drop on a yellow tang but a scopas or Kole tang is more feasible. Another option was to just have one fish like a Picasso trigger and some CUC (I know it will eat inverts but I’ve seen many times where they leave inverts alone). It’s a 5ft 130g tank. A positive to this is that I can take things slow for my bacteria to catch up and the new additions to settle in well.

OP
OP
TortillaMan

TortillaMan

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Budget reefing is all about the R2R market, craigslist, and fb
On a massive budget I'd suggest funneling that qt budget into getting quality liverock from a local reefer, a good skimmer, and decent lighting and just buying pre-qt fish.
it’s an already established system with corals and 3 types of coralline and 2 types of sponges. I’m super lucky with the bio part of my tank and the equipment is high end. Price was super good for what I got it too. Just have to put fish in it now lol. I’m trying to see if QT’ing myself will be cheaper in the long run as apposed to buying Pre Qt’d

Cthulukelele

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m sure I can find some cheap options for corals and fish there