Klir Filter Review.

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
A630C8E6-F934-4E26-8CD2-8BCD954AE3C4.jpeg
41026A62-3752-4FFE-BF50-1E7EC5262F8C.jpeg
E0E1CB32-A76B-49A4-9497-89D2637EE69D.jpeg
7678FD7B-D1CE-4CF9-AF60-651E51BF7F8A.jpeg
289E98AF-472D-438D-AB3C-E93441C7DA5E.jpeg
EF6CAE96-6DC8-4C99-8541-451EDDD5BB98.jpeg
93DC7258-9029-4A14-9758-E2D27EA7ADAB.jpeg
Ok, so I decided to give the Klir filter a fair review.
I just got a brand new IceCap 30 Reef sump and a Di-4 Klir filter.
First impression, it looks great and clean.
Installed on 11/09/2018
Tank info: 50 Gallons Brookstock system with 8 fish.
Pump is: Apex Cor 15 running at 45%.
Sump: IveCap 30 Reef
Filter: 1ea Di- 4 Klir filter and 1 Diverting cap



Installation was quick and easy.
I am planing on taking a few pics every other day to see how the filter is performing.

I will keep upgrading this thread every other day.

I really hope it works as good as advertised.
 
Mega Meltdown After Sale

roberthu526

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
1,643
Reaction score
1,187
Following. I just bought the compact roller mat from BRS but have not had time to install it yet.
 
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
38935991-0D1F-405D-B32A-329E4D1DB24B.jpeg
49CF49C8-0D4A-40F2-AAEE-6D30AA13A273.jpeg
11/10/18 update 24 hours since installation.
I had to Lower the pump speed from 45% to 35%, Klir doesn’t seem to keep up with the water flow, even at 35% the water label is almost touching the sensor. That is about 400 gallons per hour.
1500 GPH Pump at 35% = 428 GPH minus head lost we are looking at 400GPH.
 

pecan2phat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
592
Location
CT
You are probably running a lot more than 400 gph. for the water level to be that high in the IC 30 sock tray.
I run the same sump at roughly 600 gph and the water level is much lower than yours.

IMG_3965.JPG
 
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
72578ACA-CCF1-47C9-98B4-1DAAF66D1C70.jpeg
You are probably running a lot more than 400 gph. for the water level to be that high in the IC 30 sock tray.
I run the same sump at roughly 600 gph and the water level is much lower than yours.

IMG_3965.JPG
Nope 35% on the cor15 is about 400GPH
 
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
You are probably running a lot more than 400 gph. for the water level to be that high in the IC 30 sock tray.
I run the same sump at roughly 600 gph and the water level is much lower than yours.

IMG_3965.JPG
How long is your klir been running?
What are your thoughts about the dirt accumulations on the bottom of your sump?
 

pecan2phat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
592
Location
CT
Yes I understand the APEX readout but is that a reliable number because almost all DC pumps that I know of, are at 30% at the lowest setting.
I've been running the KLIR since 9/3/18, I think of it as one of those great innovations that come around every now and then. Not having to pull and clean filter socks every 4 days have been a delight.
The only problems I've had so far, is the fleece roll getting snagged 2x in 68 days. I had to remove the unit and get the roll moving freely again. Not sure why it's doing this but if I had to guess, it might be the bracket frame that is not so polished in terms of PVC manufacturing.
I think that there is a tad more detritus accumulation now than when I was using 200 micron filter socks but the DT is clearer IMO.
I know it doesn't make sense and is contradictory but this is what I see with the naked eye.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
Day number 3 not looking good it all.
got home to a filter not rolling do to excess dirt in it and water over flowing.
5C721713-9C5B-4B73-988C-2C183EB3AF3D.png
7AAFDBF9-ABA1-47D3-B18D-3D94B63C7136.png
 
Last edited:
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
Did you determine why it was not rolling?
It looks like too much dirt make it hard to roll. I just pull some roll by hand which it was some what hard to pull I thought it was going to rip.
Then started rolling.
 

pecan2phat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
592
Location
CT
It’s probably getting snagged on the frame bracket.
Seems like a common problem that they should address.
 

pecan2phat

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
1,216
Reaction score
592
Location
CT
FYI, you should turn your unit around so that the optical eye is not facing the incoming overflow output.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
the unit keep getting stock do to the excess of dirt inside and a outside the plastic rolls. The fleece roll got socked and wet too. I took the filter out cleaned and replaced the filter roll with a new one. Time to star over again.
 
OP
J

jrizo1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
242
Reaction score
32
Location
largo fl
I made a few minor adjustments this morning.
1. With the pump at 35% (400GPH) i was not getting enough water flow in the display
So I had to redirect the water coming from the BioReactor to the skimmer section of the sump so it does not go to the filter.

2. Install a new filter roll

3. Turned the filter around

Let’s see how it goes.



C633CCD0-71D8-4CC1-A37E-AE0214353FF4.jpeg
741FC726-C0F2-4429-89F8-75A8E9D26D4D.jpeg
28FE848E-E629-4EF3-BC15-808D7D764FF5.jpeg
 

Do you use NON-AQUARIUM items on your aquarium?

  • Yes a lot

    Votes: 150 44.8%
  • Yes but very little

    Votes: 131 39.1%
  • No

    Votes: 54 16.1%

Online statistics

Members online
728
Guests online
1,970
Total visitors
2,698
Top