"Life Expectancy" of an aquarium

Darins

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I am new to the hobby and i'm looking at making my first investment (most likely red sea 500s/525xl) and i've been listening to youtube channels nonstop as an effort to not make too many mistakes with the build. So far, i have followed Mr. Saltwater Fish tank budget and 120 series, and the BRS build videos which have great informaiton.

One thing i've heard and haven't found clarification on is the 'life expectancy' of a reef tank.

I understand silicon cannot hold forever, but i was hoping someone here with some experience could let me know:

- how long their tanks have lasted (especially red seas of similar size to the 525), or when the glass broke (maybe a 'why it broke' as well)
- what signs to look for in a tank that indicate the structural integrity is diminishing
- additional maintenance or ongoing preventative maintenance to ensure the silicon doesn't give out/ the glass doesn't break
- so far I've seen avoid using glass cleaners near the corners of the tank which could damage the rim of the silicon, and to keep rock's secured to avoid a fall and possible contact with glass... but that's about it

Any information on this matter would be helpful! Thanks to all the reefers out there helping the newbies!

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
drawing-dolphins-hand-painted-dolphin-cartoon-image-and-fish-images (1).jpg

Glad you joined us!
There are numerous accounts of aquariums running for decades. As long as the tank is manufactured properly,coplanar, level and isn't damaged from impacts, cutting silicone, they will last a very, very, very long time. Decades or longer.

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I agree with the above statements. I'd expect a solidly built tank to last for decades.

Abundant Life Aquariums

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%