Lighting or Spectrum issue??

AquaBert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All - noob here with a lighting question.

So I’ve had my tank for over a year. Some soft corals are growing well. Expect my leather he’s been the same size for 8 months lol. Actually they are all doing very well. However, my LPS are struggling. I have 7 different LPS, most are Duncan’s and a couple of candy cane corals.

Apparently these grow quickly. However, they have not grown at all in a year.

Parameters are within normal ranges. PO4, Nitrates, Alk, Mag, calcium are all normal. Sal is 1.24…temp 77-78. I’ll also dose trace once a week. My parameters literally NEVER CHANGE. I also have a mini skimmer and refugium with chaeto.

I am wondering if my lighting has anything to do with it. I have an evo5 and upgraded the lighting. Nothing fancy but it has 48 led/ half are white/green, half blue. Allows a timer so morning light for 2 hours and then full spectrum for 6, down to blue for another 3. No algae grows other than some basic glass algae.

I notice that most reefers have a blue tinge to their tanks during full spectrum. Mine, although placed of 50/50 strength, appears to be pretty white during the full spectrum. I took par readings:

Top 1/3 sits at 150-350 range, most of rock at this level is 150-225 range.
Middle 3rd : 75-150 range (all LPS here)
Bottom 3rd: 50-75 range (all mushrooms here)

Should I keep the white/green spectrum at 50% and dial up the blue to maybe 75%?!

I also feel reef roids and LPS pellets. Not sure why everything BUT the LPS are growing.

Oddly enough, I also have a purple gorgonian that stretches from sand bed to top 3rd of tank and is doing amazing. Growth all over lol. I have a lawnmower, urchin, and clown but they don’t bother the corals.

Thanks!! I hope I have enough clues for someone to help me!!

OP
OP
A

AquaBert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_0518.jpeg
IMG_0519.jpeg

jda