looking for good pointers for keeping a purple tang healthy and colored up nicely

salt newbie01

CRC Flunky
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank is a 120 with open rock work. Lots of swimming room and passages to swim through and hide if desired. All water parameters are in check. Current fish list; red headed goby, wheelers shrimp goby, purple fire fish, 1 male 4 female lyretail anthias. I hope to add a few more fish but nothing as big as the tang or similar in body shape. I am not a newbie to reef tanks but I am a newbie to tangs. So if anyone knows and certain tricks for tang in general or specific to purple tangs I would greatly appreciate the info. This fish should come in on the small side 3-4"

Thanks in advance

soccerbag

Chalices did this to me!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll love your Purple Tang - they are beautiful fish. I would recommend feeding a good variety diet (nori algae sheets a few times per week, good frozen food such as PE Mysis / Rod's Food). Tangs will eat just about anything you put in the tank. Just make sure you give him a healthy amount of veggie matter of some sort. Nori sheets work well and are easy to feed. He can nip at that all day long.

OP
OP
salt newbie01

salt newbie01

CRC Flunky
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks! I had planned on good variety of food. I think that is key for all fish ;) I have really had to fight the urge the pick up either a powder brown or blue tang. But thought 2 might be too many for my 120. Too many tangs too few gallons!!

soccerbag

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Powder Browns and Blue's are more prone to ich so I think that the Purple is a good choice.

Reef UP

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0