Mangroves... The death of Cyano Algae?

143MPCo

ASSIST PROTECT DEFEND
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All My Cyano is Gone?!

A little background - I have been fighting a cyano outbreak for about 6 months in my 390-net system. It had me at my wit’s end and that's an understatement! I did everything I could think of to try and combat the issue; more frequent water changes, feeding less, cleaning the sand bed, more flow, H2O2, etc, etc, etc. You name it, I did it. While some of these things helped they did nothing to resolve the issue. Suffice to say it would come back with a vengeance covering everything and I mean EVERYTHING! I took a break from my self- proclaimed "war" on my cyano issues and focused on other things like summertime fun. I wasn't giving up but just thought it best to stop and let the system settle.

Now this is where it gets interesting...

The other day I walked into the basement Fish Tank Room to find my cyano dying away. I hadn't changed anything; the stuff was just peeling off the sand and rockwork. To tell the truth, I was a bit dumbfounded. I mean I kept asking myself "what changed" and kept replying back "nothing", well nothing I knew about at least!?!?

Two days went by and the cyano, even the stuff in the submersed layer of sand along the glass, was dying. That surprised me as the H2O2 treatment, while somewhat effective, never seemed to get deep enough to have an effect on it.

I had a mystery on my hands and for the life of me could not find out what was killing it off so quickly and yet have no ill effects on the reset of my system. Test after test, came back normal. All parameters are and continue to be within optimal levels for parameters in a coral reef aquarium. So what was it?