metal halide t5 hybrid questions

dricc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
A little background. I had a fowlr tank 18 years ago for 10 years. I have been researching as much as possible for the last 10 years believe it or not. I am finally ready to take the plunge into reefing. I purchased a t5 led hybrid and just before I set the tank and the light up,I changed my mind about the t5 led combo.I've been intrigued by the t5 metal halide combo. I was initially scared of metal halide because of the possible heat problem.I see that the newer metal halides may not give off as much heat as the units in the past did? i have narrowed my choice to 2. Either the giesemann spectra or reefbrite paired with t5(if thats possible?) I know reefbrite touts it's ability to run cooler than the competition.Is this true? Would it be hard pair reebrite with t5? or is the Giesemann spectra the way to go. Sorry for the long winded post and thanks in advance.

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The only thing that gives off a slightly different amount of heat is the electronic ballast. And it still gives off heat, just not as much. The bulbs are the same as ever, thanks (mostly) to IR output.

pdxmonkeyboy

Sticks!! Give me the sticks!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
you have been researching for the last 10 years? I would think a little more about if you want an aquarium or not. Don't just jump into it..

OP
OP
D

dricc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
lol. it was part over whelming schedule and part financial and yes I was a bit of a coward too.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0