Mirrorless and macro lens?

Velcro

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thinking about upgrading my old school rebel xsi to a mirrorless. I have no experience with mirrorless but would like to have a smaller camera to bring everywhere.

Are mirrorless cameras compatible with fixed zoom macro lenses? I'm thinking 60mm since most the shooting will be in a 13" frag/propogation system.

Also I don't want to break the bank and I'm fine with used it refurbished.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you mean a non zoom(prime lens)
They are.
Difficulty is in the brand. If it’s like the kit lenses it needs electronics to communicate for shutter focus motor etc. if the lens has a manual mode / apature it’s fine.

The do make macros for mirrorless as well. In fact , some of the kit zooms as well as the primes have an incredibly good close focus. You can look at the front of the lens or the lens specs to find the minimum focus distance.

Or , if you buy manual focus lenses it’s great. I use a 1965-68 55mm Minolta macro.

debby

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Velcro, perhaps I can help. I have 2 mirrorless, one DLSR and of course, phone and iPad.

Mirrorless is all I shoot with underwater (diving) in a housing. It's also what I love shooting corals with. I am shooting with an Olympus OMD-em-1 or an Olympus Pen-f and a 60mm macro lens. A fixed (or prime) lens has one focal length, eg. 60mm. All of the mirrorless at a decent level (like Olympus) have the ability to shoot in manual mode and to set a custom white balance.

Here is a shot I took with my Olympus, 60mm in my tank. Now, in the interest of full disclosure this photo is a 'stack' of photos each using a slightly different focus plane, so that I can shoot with the aperture wide open but still get the focus (depth of field) thru the shot.