MM overflow bean animal setting up

jonelder68

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just got my tank drilled and MM 1200gph overflow installed. I’ve seen multiple drain configurations and maybe I’m just a newbie but why are some bean animals drains configured with U shapes and some just straight pipe?

Secondly out of bulkhead drain can I go straight to a 90? Or is some vertical drop necessary before adding 90? I would ideally like to 90 straight out of bulkheads to go through wall and then drop down to sump in basement.

Third….gate valve location on primary drain does it matter the location? Close to overflow start or could it be towards end of drain in basement at the sump?

IMG_6378.png IMG_6379.png

DCR

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can do it with or without the U=bends. The U-bend can keep it a little quieter if you have a large flow through the secondary, but you generally just want a trickle. Having it open ended skims any top skum/oil layer from the box. I have both of mine open ended without U-bends

I like to have the gate valve on the full siphon down low near the exit of the pipe. If you have it up high and the flow is low, it can trap air below it and become noisy. Also easier to access when lower.

OP
OP
jonelder68

jonelder68

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can do it with or without the U=bends. The U-bend can keep it a little quieter if you have a large flow through the secondary, but you generally just want a trickle. Having it open ended skims any top skum/oil layer from the box. I have both of mine open ended without U-bends

I like to have the gate valve on the full siphon down low near the exit of the pipe. If you have it up high and the flow is low, it can trap air below it and become noisy. Also easier to access when lower.