Mounting lights higher for better coverage?

Gobigorgohome_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,

Newbie here with little understanding of lighting.

On a bit of a budget so I am considering tanks with different dimensions and what could be lit on a single light. Also for aesthetics as I would like to hide the light in some kind of lamp type fixture.

My question is, what exactly are the downsides of mounting a light higher?

I am considering a tank with dimensions such as 32x24x18 or 36x20x18 and was thinking I could light this with a single AI hydra.

It seems in many cases people use 2 of these to light a tank of this size but only run them at say 50/60 percent. Could I get decent coverage and enough light for an lps tank by mounting it higher at turning the power up?

Any other drawbacks I haven’t thought about?

Thanks

AllSignsPointToFish

"No Longer The Guy Without FaceBook"
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll get better coverage but lower PAR, which may or may not make a difference depending on what types of animals you wish to keep.

If you're on a lighting budget, it may limit you to lower-light inhabitants.

OP
OP
G

Gobigorgohome_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll get better coverage but lower PAR, which may or may not make a difference depending on what types of animals you wish to keep.

Sure, I understand. Is there a rule of thumb for how much par is reduced as the height of the light rises. A reduction of 50PAR for every ft for example?

AllSignsPointToFish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A lot of higher end LED manufacturers publish the PAR distribution as a function of a couple of different mounting heights. In general, the PAR should diminish as a function of the reciprocal of the squared distance (i.e., PAR is proportional to 1/r^2). As a result, a few extra inches mounting height could have a dramatic effect on PAR.

Saltyreef