Mounting Monti to back wall

Mglass

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I just bought this and put it on a rack for the time being. I'm wanting to try to get it to attach in the corner between the overflow box and back wall. It's about 1.5-2 inch diameter almost a perfect circle. If I make a little ledge in the corner, will it grow and attach itself to the walls? If I glue it flat against the wall, frag plug flat, will it plate outward and upward?

I'm new to Monti's so any help or ideas will be greatly appreciated.
20240309_171214.jpg

tbrown

Nominated Cronie Intern - Might be failing?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
It will but if it's glass, it may eventually get heavy enough to unglue and fall off.

mrpontiac80

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do this all the time. I cut the stem off the frag plug and use a drop of superglue, then epoxy, then superglue. Eventually the monti will grow out onto the glass and start plating outward if that’s what it is. Here is a pic of my newest ones. I’ve got 4… a purple, 2 greens and a red with green in it. I’m hoping they all start to mix with each other

I also do this with zoas, cyphastria and anything else that encrusts. Gsp, I just place a rock of it against the glass and it will eventually grow up it too.
IMG_1920.jpeg

OP
OP
M

Mglass

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do this all the time. I cut the stem off the frag plug and use a drop of superglue, then epoxy, then superglue. Eventually the monti will grow out onto the glass and start plating outward if that’s what it is. Here is a pic of my newest ones. I’ve got 4… a purple, 2 greens and a red with green in it. I’m hoping they all start to mix with each other

I also do this with zoas, cyphastria and anything else that encrusts. Gsp, I just place a rock of it against the glass and it will eventually grow up it too.
IMG_1920.jpeg