Moving fish to Hospital tank what do I need to do with Display Tank

Aquanoob

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me start out with I am new to the Saltwater hobby (1 year) but have been in the freshwater hobby for 15 years and hardly ever lose a fish which is why this is so frustrating to me.

I came home from a vacation and found my Mimic Tang died looking at him I couldn’t see any visual signs of disease. Then a week later I lost my pair of clown fish they were breathing heavy and looked like they were sloughing looked cloudy. I now see that on my Scopas tang so I am moving all fish to hospital tank to treat with API General Cure. My display set up is a 75 gallon with a 20 gallon sump all water parameters are testing in range using my Hanna Checkers.

I know I’m Going to treat the fish in the hospital tank do I also need to treat the display tank and if so what sure I use that’s reef safe? Should I just treat the display tank and the fish together? I have only LPS coral and other than fish I have a brittle star, some CUC blue crabs and snails.

Not sure what to do with display tank please help!

Dark_Knightt

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Honestly I'm not sure, I'm fairly new (less than a year), but I would probaly suggest doing a LARGE water change, maybe like 35g-50g? Water changes will usually help clear things out of the water. Are you running any carbon at all?
Have you noticed anything else go missing? It's possible something died and you missed it, and it just decayed in a part of the tank you couldn't see.
#reefsquad more help pls.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not sure what you are treating. Posting pictures of the sick fish might help the experts give you clear advice.

Arabyps

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0