Mushroom ID: Orange Rhodactis? Superman? Other? TIA

TinyReefObsession

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, I’ve ID’d most of the critters in my tank but none of the mushrooms! I have the most of these gorgeous orange ones on a blue/ purple background, and the closest I could find online was superman or orange rhodactis (depending on the pic…). All pics were under blues online so I went with that here too… any thoughts as to one or the other? Any other possible suggestions? Many thanks in advance for sharing your time & knowledge! :)
IMG_6731.jpeg

OP
OP
TinyReefObsession

TinyReefObsession

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
looks like a regular rhodactis to me.
Thanks for your reply! Sorry, total newbie here, but what’s a regular rhodactis? … I thought rhodactis was the type of mushroom, and then there’s a bunch of sub types… but i’ve just been trying to google my way to an answer so far! :)

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Thanks for your reply! Sorry, total newbie here, but what’s a regular rhodactis? … I thought rhodactis was the type of mushroom, and then there’s a bunch of sub types… but i’ve just been trying to google my way to an answer so far! :)
rhodactis is the morph, the family being corallimorpharia. example: honda is the make(family), accord is the model(morph).

what i meant by "regular rhodactics" is that it seems like a generic morph. common.

OP
OP
TinyReefObsession

TinyReefObsession

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
rhodactis is the morph, the family being corallimorpharia. example: honda is the make(family), accord is the model(morph).

what i meant by "regular rhodactics" is that it seems like a generic morph. common.
Ooooh!! Ok thank you! I initially thought rhodactis was a much more general term. Appreciate the clarification :)

OP
OP
TinyReefObsession

TinyReefObsession

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0