My First ‘Mail Order Fish’ In 25 Years Just Arrived!

JumboShrimp

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
AEC38E0D-18F6-4AC2-A40D-9D7C962AEDAB.jpeg

I have been buying saltwater fish for 25 years— always in-person from an LFS. But after much hand-wringing over the decision, I saw that ‘one last fish’ that I have been looking for to start acclimating now as my tanks are currently being built.

I bought this WYSIWYG Pinktail Trigger from Diver’s Den, and it came Overnight Fed Ex today. The packing was phenomenal— I literally lost track of how many bag-in-a-bag in-bags I went through to get to the fish; which arrived in A+ condition. I had an observation tank ready at .019 salinity (guessing +/- where the bag water might be), and it arrived at .021, so not much of a step-down to acclimate him. He’s eating like a horse and acts like a tank has ALWAYS been his ocean. No hiding... not spooked by noises or movement.

Bottom-line: Unless he keels over tomorrow, this has been a very positive experience. I still like the in-store atmosphere of a high-end LFS, but I might not wait 25 more years to try this again (lol) for the certain ‘must have’ fish. Best wishes.

WV Reefer

I do what I want!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
AEC38E0D-18F6-4AC2-A40D-9D7C962AEDAB.jpeg

I have been buying saltwater fish for 25 years— always in-person from an LFS. But after much hand-wringing over the decision, I saw that ‘one last fish’ that I have been looking for to start acclimating now as my tanks are currently being built.