My first reef tank 678ltrs (171gal)

Raphael Dalmeida

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, this is my first attempt at a reef tank.

I live in Sunshine Coast, QLD Australia.

I've been on the freshwater hobby for a long time, and did keep quite a lot of freshwater fish, though was always dazzled by saltwater aquariums, though stayed away because of apparent difficulty, higher maintenance and costs.

Finally this year i bought my first house and decided to take the leap into the saltwater hobby. Finding a great and cheap setup on Facebook Marketplace did help a lot.

01/11
I got the the tank and all equipment around November 1st for $500 aud, i managed to get most of the live rock and coral rubble (50+ kg) on a bucket with some saltwater to keep it going.
I guess this really helped me with a faster cycle.

The Tank is a 120x90x60 drilled on the bottom with an overflow to a 75x75x50 sump tank.

The Equipment included with the tank was:
1 Maxspect Recurve R6-120 4ft LED Light
1 Kessil A160 Tuna Blue
2 Jebao Wave Makers with controllers
1 Pump which i'm not sure of the brand (with controller)
1 Skimmer (SkimZ brand)
Heaps of live rock and coral rubble
1 Nitrate Reactor (with a closed bag of bio pellets media)
1 Tunze Osmolator 3152
1 Refractometer
1 Hailea Chiller
+ a few other bits and pieces

It was a pretty good deal for me. Except that my driveway has an inclination of approximately 40+ degrees and there is a row of steps to get into my house, so it was tough getting the tank in place.

Overall setting everything up was quite a steep learning curve for me. I did ask a few questions here in the forum and read over the existing topics with all the besics. Although i am still learning lots.

Luckily i have a friend who is now a fellow reefer leaving just one street beside me who helped me setting everything up, the plumbing and often give me a few tips and gifts me a few of his own livestock as i get the tank running.

first.jpg