My First Reef Tank!

Mrj7

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just started my first reef tank today, I am a total newbie. I have been doing tons of research over the past few weeks, and it has finally all come together. All comments and critisms are welcome and encouraged. I would love to hear from you all.

Fluval Evo 13.5
Carrib Sea Life Rock
Carrib Sea Arag-alive Reef Sand
Stock Pump
Stock Light
MingDak Submersible 8w Royal Blue 460nm / White 7000-7500k LED
Hydor Koralia Nano 240 Wavemaker
Accel Aquatics Wide Vortex Flow Accelerator (Instead of the dual duckbills that come with the tank)
Cobalt Aquatics Flat 100w Heater
Cheap airpump with stone (Will run if needed)
inTank Chamber 1 and chamber 2 filter media baskets
Currently the only things in the filtration system are 2 bags of Biohome Ultimate marine media and the 1 bag of ceramic media that came with the tank. I have carbon, filter floss, and chemi pure blue that I am waiting to add until the cycle is complete. I am still unsure when exactly I will add the chemi pure blue, it might just be as needed.

Here are a couple pictures, keep in mind I literally just filled it up a few hours ago. I need to do some more cable management as well. I will also include a screen shot of my 1st test results taken after dosing Dr Tim's Ammonium Chloride.

Aquarium Day 1.jpg Aquarium Under Tank.jpg Aquarium First Test.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
M

Mrj7

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off I love those evos! Looks like your off to a great start. I would probably eliminate the carbon until needed.
Hey there! Nice set up! I’m a first time reefer too. Be careful with chemi-pure blue it sucks all nitrates and phosphates out of the water super fast! Happy reefing!
" I have carbon, filter floss, and chemi pure blue that I am waiting to add until the cycle is complete."