My new DIY PVC Overflow loses siphon on power outage.

minerman

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just put together a new sump system today, completely DIY.... I've never done this before and it's not working quite right.

I have a U PVC pipe for an overflow. It has a cap on top with holes drilled in it. When the water level drops below the cap holes (power outage) the overflow loses its siphon and needs re-primed each time. What have I done wrong? How can I make it keep its siphon for when the power comes back on so that I don't burn up my return pump?

OP
OP
M

minerman

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is really depressing... I've done exactly this and no luck. I actually went out and upgraded from 3/4" to 2" PVC and rebuilt the system. The only thing I didn't have last time was the line with the cap up on top.

Not only do I have to reprime it every time... also I cannot get the maximum flow out of my pump. I bought a 950 gph pump and even with a 2" pvc return, I have to throttle down the pump with a ball valve or it will run my sump dry...

Wow...I just walked away to write this message and my overflow drained the tank all the way past the collection cap, down to the bottom elbow of the overflow piping, flooded my sump container.

I think maybe just the quality of my work is bad? I guess? I followed the instructions with the PVC glue, but it is clearly leaking. :(

OP
OP
M

minerman

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use no check valves in my assembly, but I don't know why that would matter if I plug the siphon hole an keep everything air tight.

feh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just put together a new sump system today, completely DIY.... I've never done this before and it's not working quite right.