My past and present super cheap reef builds!

the_reef_keeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone I've been reefing for 3 years and have some pictures to share of my super cheap reef builds since I'm only 14.
Some of you think kids can't own tanks and aren't responsible but this thread is here to prove you wrong. No one in my family has ever owned a reef so I did this all by my self :)I've never lost a fish in my three years of reefing. Even though I use really cheap equipment I research everything before I buy it.
So after about 200 hours of reef YouTube and another 500 on reefing websites and forums I bought my first reef tank that was a KollerKraft 2.5 gallon tank with a hang on back filter and Led light I cycled the tank. I had an anemone 2 clownfish 1 YWG some tiny goniopora and a red Lobo
I did water changes every other day because the tank was pretty overstocked and fed the anemone 1 piece of table shrimp a week.
After about 3 months I got tired of the water changes every other day so i returned all the livestock and got some LR and started my zoa garden. I uploaded a file of early on in the garden but unfortunately I didn't keep to good of a record so I don't have too many pictures of back then

After i moved I started up a new 33 Gallon tank this February. I started with cheap equipment but I am slowly upgrading everything.

Lights- super cheap Chinese LED that actually worked suprisingly well. I upgraded to a full spectrum led box light that arrives in a week
Skimmer- bubble mangus hang on back skimmer
Rock- 30 pounds of dry rock from reef cleaners
Sand- 40 pounds Carib sea live sand
A sponge filter for extra bacteria and for quarentine when needed (unless meds used but so far not needed)
Heater- 20 bucks from amazon I'm replacing it every year incase of heater malfunctions
Thermometer-2 dollars off amazon
Water flow- some cheap one upgrading to jebao soon