My Reef Savvy V2

Chris155hp

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
782
Reaction score
370
Location
Miami, FL
Hey Guys/Gals back at it, this time with a new tank!!! While I had nice success with my current 60 Gal Reef Savvy, Im looking to improve and avoid the pitfalls of the old system. The new tank is a rimless 66"x28"x22"tall which is roughly 176g Display with actually water volume of the DT being ~160 Gal. I plan to have a rather large sump so I'm quite confidant ill have around 200g water volume, which is one of my goals for stability. (Update: total actual system volume is 173 gal)
 
Last edited:
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Chris155hp

Chris155hp

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
782
Reaction score
370
Location
Miami, FL
Heres my equipment list:
Tank & Stand: 66x28x22H Rimless Reef Savvy with the New Ghost Overflow/Phantom Bottom/Armored Seams
Sump: Custom Building An Obsession Sump (in design Stages)
Skimmer: Bubble King Double Cone 200 With RD3 Speedy
Return: Red Dragon 80W with 10v
Lighting: 60" Giesemann Matrixx II & 60" BML Led Strip (405nm/420nm/450nm/470nm)
Flow: 2 Ecotech MP40QD (Debating if Ill need more)
Nutrient Export:Turbo Aquatics L2 Scrubber - *Edit 3/13/17- Now contiplating switching to a Kessil H380 II over the refugium with cheato Algea
Controller: New Apex with Additional EB832
ATO: Neptune FFM (should be released shortly)
 
Last edited:

helen ann

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2016
Messages
7,745
Reaction score
13,855
Heres my equipment list:
Tank & Stand: 66x28x22H Rimless Reef Savvy with the New Ghost Overflow/Phantom Bottom/Armored Seams
Sump: Custom Building An Obsession Sump (in design Stages)
Skimmer: Bubble King Double Cone 200 With RD3 Speedy
Return: Red Dragon 80W with 10v
Lighting: 60" Giesemann Matrixx II & 60" BML Led Strip (405nm/420nm/450nm/470nm)
Flow: 2 Ecotech MP40QD (Debating if Ill need more)
Nutrient Export:Turbo Aquatics L4 Scrubber
Nice List!!
Can't wait to see this build!;)
 
OP
Chris155hp

Chris155hp

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
782
Reaction score
370
Location
Miami, FL
Heres my equipment list:
Tank & Stand: 66x28x22H Rimless Reef Savvy with the New Ghost Overflow/Phantom Bottom/Armored Seams
Sump: Custom Building An Obsession Sump (in design Stages)
Skimmer: Bubble King Double Cone 200 With RD3 Speedy
Return: Red Dragon 80W with 10v
Lighting: 60" Giesemann Matrixx II & 60" BML Led Strip (405nm/420nm/450nm/470nm)
Flow: 2 Ecotech MP40QD (Debating if Ill need more)
Nutrient Export:Turbo Aquatics L4 Scrubber
Controller: New Apex with Additional EB832
ATO: Neptune FFM (should be released shortly)
Forgot to add dosing will be controlled by an Apex Dos
 
OP
Chris155hp

Chris155hp

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
782
Reaction score
370
Location
Miami, FL
Here's a few pictures of the stand. The right door is the electronics compartment. The main doors are nice and large without a center brace which is awesome!!! I can also use the access door on the left. Going to wire the led lights to my breakout box so they automatically come on when any doors are opened.

IMG_0939.JPG


IMG_0938.JPG


IMG_0941.JPG
 

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
39,809
Reaction score
48,349
Nice stand and looking forward to the new build!
 
https://www.omegasea.net/
OP
Chris155hp

Chris155hp

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
782
Reaction score
370
Location
Miami, FL
Nice stand! How do you control the cabinet lights?
Currently just by plugging in the power supply but eventually my apex will auto turn on the lights as soon as a door is opened. You just use magnetic alarm contacts and wire them to a breakout box
 

nova65ss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,485
Reaction score
323
Location
Raleigh
Currently just by plugging in the power supply but eventually my apex will auto turn on the lights as soon as a door is opened. You just use magnetic alarm contacts and wire them to a breakout box
Nice thats what I was wondering thanks!
 

How do you run activated carbon on your reef tank?

  • Reactor

    Votes: 238 36.4%
  • Filter Sock

    Votes: 28 4.3%
  • Mesh Bag

    Votes: 297 45.4%
  • Other (please explain in the thread)

    Votes: 11 1.7%
  • I don't run Carbon

    Votes: 80 12.2%

Online statistics

Members online
2,228
Guests online
4,970
Total visitors
7,198
Bulk Reef Supply
Top