need some advise vodka users

sarajo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been dosing vodka for about 2 months now up to 4.5 mils as of today, what I'm seeing is the phosphates are starting to fall (used to be .06 to .10 to this afternoon they were at .02) My question is on my green slimer as my phosphates have been dropping this last week and half or so it has really lightened up its not near as green as it was, is this normal or should I be adding something else to bring back the color, other corals have lightened up to but not to the degree of the green slimer. Any advise or suggestions welcome

OP
OP
S

sarajo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
will it just keep getting worse then? I was under the understanding that vodka dosing would bring out the colors as the phosphates went down?

swannyson7

Moderator/Acro Aficianado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 on AA. High phosphates will give you poor color on your SPS, but so will a lack of nutrients. Are you still ramping up your vodka dosing, or are you just using a maintenance dose at this point?

OP
OP
S

sarajo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i do dose mb7 and I'm at 4.5 mils right now and its at .02 as of this afternoon, the way i read it, it says to keep dosing vodka until zero and then cut in half. when dosing AA's are you just adding phosphate back to the aquarium? or are they a different type of food for the corals, I have a couple real small patches of hair algea will the AA's make it worse?

OP
OP
S

sarajo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not dosing 4.5 mils of MB7 only about 1 mil aday the 4.5 is vodka

swannyson7

Moderator/Acro Aficianado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0