Need some tips for my new build!

nor127

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reef-people!

I am new to this hobby and could use some tips on equipment for my new build.
Im planning to keep a mix of soft and lps corals.
Im trying to make this tank as quiet (and idiot-proof) as possible. Hopefully silent if thats even possible.

This is currently my plan:

Tank:
Waterbox Marine X 110.4 (301 l display + 97 l sump)

Flow:
1x TMC Reef-Tide 4000 lph
Need some more flow here. Any suggestion?
Thinking of going with a 8000 lph TMC. Would this be enough flow?

Lights:
2x AI Prime 16.
I have these from another tank. Would this be enough lights?

Skimmer:
Maybe Nyos 120/160? Maybe someone has this skimmer and can tell me about the noise-level?
Any suggestions for an effective and silent skimmer?

ATO:
Never even had a ATO before. Any suggestions for something reliable and not too expensive?

Anything else I have forgotten?

DC Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reef-people!

I am new to this hobby and could use some tips on equipment for my new build.
Im planning to keep a mix of soft and lps corals.
Im trying to make this tank as quiet (and idiot-proof) as possible. Hopefully silent if thats even possible.

This is currently my plan:

Tank:
Waterbox Marine X 110.4 (301 l display + 97 l sump)

Flow:
1x TMC Reef-Tide 4000 lph
Need some more flow here. Any suggestion?
Thinking of going with a 8000 lph TMC. Would this be enough flow?

Lights:
2x AI Prime 16.
I have these from another tank. Would this be enough lights?

Skimmer:
Maybe Nyos 120/160? Maybe someone has this skimmer and can tell me about the noise-level?
Any suggestions for an effective and silent skimmer?

ATO:
Never even had a ATO before. Any suggestions for something reliable and not too expensive?

Anything else I have forgotten?
Welcome to R2R!!! Look forward to seeing your build progress.

Couple of comments on Skimmer, ATO and flow