Neptune Apex

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by Krawl, Feb 21, 2018.

  1. Krawl

    Krawl Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    46
    Is it me or does this thing lose connection more than it is connected rendering the tank controls us less! Not to mention it happens at all the wrong times to. Doing a water change and it loses connection. So I can turn on my return pumps, wave makers or turn off the skimmer. Have to bypass it. So far this has been the biggest waste of money since the begging out our tank build. Is it just Me?

    -Krawl
     
    Tags:

  2. ryboy707

    ryboy707 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    58
    Oh no!!! I'm on the verge of buying an Apex because I thought all the connectivity issues of the 2016 Apex had been dealt with. I was going to go with the p4 because of this issue but really want to go Apex. Now I'm not so sure
     
  3. Krawl

    Krawl Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    46
    Lol I know where one might be for sale! Two days ago it did it when I was reading coral. Tonight, water change/tank mantince. Lights on, refuge lights on. Can' turn skimmer off or turn on wave pumps or return pumps. Keep trying to reset it on my phone and nothing. Tried unplugging and replugging main control unit power... and nothing.

    -Krawl
     
  4. Mal11224

    Mal11224 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Might be a wifi issue. My apex never loses connection. Is it far from your router? Assuming that you are not connected directly to it. You can see what the signal strength is in the apex menu.
     
  5. recess62

    recess62 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter CTARS Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    638
    Location:
    Pound Ridge, NY

    Contact Neptune support. They will get you straightened out. Please keep it in mind that these are very complex devices. Give support a chance. I had a similar issue. It turned out to be a hardware issue. Had a new one the next day
     
    vic5hands likes this.
  6. Krawl

    Krawl Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    46
    Is Apex open this late and anyone know a number?

    It contacted for a brief second and I was able to turn on return pump and the waves but on the menu the was show they are off. Refuge light is off but shows on. And now skimmer is off... No it lost connection again.

    Been on our main tank for a year. Wi-Fi in the house is fine. On it now and all other devices are working. Just frustrating knowing what it cost and what we have in our tank and have no co from over it.

    -Krawl
     
    Mal11224 likes this.
  7. Mal11224

    Mal11224 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    As Recess mentioned.... should definitely get it replaced. I think it is a good product and definitely pricey but it has saved me from disaster many times. Found this info for customer service.
    408-779-4090, M-F, 9 am – 5 pm Pacific Standard Time.
     
  8. Krawl

    Krawl Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    46
    Pacific... what if guessed they are closed. Messing with it for over a hour inhale all the main life support items running. Just hope it works through the night till tomorrow after work. I still can' turn on or off anything from the dashboard and I am not getting the disconnected issue right now but still no real control over the system.

    -Krawl
     
  9. BoomCorals

    BoomCorals www.boomcorals.com R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Toys For Kids Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    4,963
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    I have never had connection issues with my apex. Definitely contact support.
     
  10. rpeters

    rpeters Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Had same issues, switch to weird connection and no issues since. Unless you are streaming or running a VPN connections you likely wouldn't notice any connection issues with stuff that will cause it to reflect losing connection. I had my provider out and tons of unrepairable packet errors that were causing it via wifi
     
  11. ryboy707

    ryboy707 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    58
    Streaming? Will streaming Netflix or anything affect my connection with an apex?
     
  12. BoomCorals

    BoomCorals www.boomcorals.com R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Toys For Kids Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    4,963
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Not unless your router isn’t able to handle it.
     
  13. Wiskey

    Wiskey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    92
    I would contact support for sure, my connection is rock solid, the only time mine disconnects is when I have an issue of some kind. Like power outage, or internet outage.

    Whiskey
     
  14. ca1ore

    ca1ore Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award CTARS Member Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor R2R TV Featured

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    My apex occasionally loses contact with the world, but retains connectivity locally. Only affects the ability to see it through fusion if I'm away, does not affect operation of the unit. I do have mine hard wired though.
     
  15. rpeters

    rpeters Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    shouldnt, but was directed to the comment about WIFI is fine and other devices were working.
     
  16. willtheld

    willtheld Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Email is always the quickest way to get ahold of Neptune. I’m running a 2016 and don’t have any issues with connection. I have mine running on a wired connection.

    The Neptune guys are good and will get you sorted out. You just need to give them a chance. In the mean time, As long as you set up your programming right with failsafes, the connection to fusion shouldn’t affect the systems ability to keep life support running autonomously 24/7
     
  17. kswan

    kswan Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I had constant connection issues over WiFi. The Apex would disconnect and the only way to reestablish a connection was to reset. I finally moved my router to allow a wired connection. Since then everything has been great. I'm not sure why the Apex had trouble while everything else with WiFi worked fine.
     
  18. dealseer

    dealseer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    154
    Highly recommend going with GHL.
     
  19. Dom274

    Dom274 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    Ohio

    I promise you, the issue is with your internal network/wifi. Take a laptop (Or another device that measures signal strength) and put it next to your apex. Just because other devices in the house work, doesn't mean that the wifi isn't to blame. Wifi is absolute witchcraft. It can work perfect in one spot, and be garbage 2ft to the left due to something stupid like the lighting in the room (Wifi really doesn't like florescent lights, or really any kind of high voltage circuitry). Honestly, with the kind of lighting the people commonly use on their tanks, I'm surprised any wifi works nearby. Worst case scenario, run a temporary wired connection and see if the issue stops. That will at least answer the question...
     
    Flexin and vic5hands like this.
  20. Greenstreet.1

    Greenstreet.1 Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    2,559
    Location:
    Li New York
    Never had connection issues I don’t do WiFi hardwired
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...