Neptune WAV High-pitch Noise

psumms

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I've been running two Neptune WAV pumps for two months, fantastic pumps but they're creating a really uncomfortable high-pitch noise - even sitting 4+ meters away. I've repositioned and adjusted many times, reset, checked cable vibration etc. no change. The noise is coming from the pumps themselves and varies at different speeds - running at 100% is the only fix as the noise stops! Also, I've noticed one is slightly louder than the other. It sounds like a buzzing power transformer!

Raised a ticket with Neptune, they took me through the usual length support diagnosis then concluded I need to send them in. Really don't want to be without them for two weeks only to be told there is nothing wrong with them or have old reconditioned replacements (that still have the same noise!) as happened with my APEX! Sent them an audio recording in which the noise was clearly present, they denied being able to hear anything but the usual low pump humm! Sent the same recording around the office asking what noise do people hear most prominent, all 11 people could clearly hear it! Neptune market these as being 'as quiet as MP40s' (which also have) - I cannot agree.

Anyone else have WAV pumps and experience the same high-pitch noise?

OP
OP
psumms

psumms

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All, they run through a program covering every mode throughout the day. The only difference with the level of noise is the speed they're running.

Streetdoc77

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had to reseat the impellers after using pipeline mode and the noise stopped ..... also added rubber grommets to the wires to keep them from vibrating so much . I would definitely start by taking the impellers out and inspecting them .

OP
OP
psumms

psumms

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0