New 75 gallon tank. Lots of questions.

porkins

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Intro

Brand newbie here. Through some fortunate FB marketplace sleuthing, I just acquired an acrylic 75 gallon tank, light strip, solid wood cab stand, 4 wave makers with loop, and purple rock. Then in another win found a 40 gallon breeder tank with the sump baffle glass compartments glued in. Atop that, I was able to get a Bubble Magus Z-6 skimmer, then ordered a fresh Syncra Silent 1.5 pump, and a Theilling Rollermat Compact. Bought enough CarabSea special grade sand to fill the tank. After purchasing a glass buffing kit, I’m down about $800 overall. The seller also gave me tons of chemicals, salt, and test tools. The tank does not have any holes aside from ones on top. I want to put in the appropriate holes. I’m not interest in using a hang-behind external overflow box for the tubing unless convinced otherwise and definitely want to implement a fuge.

Questions

1. In order to get going, are my remaining parts needed the following: hoses/tubing/fittings, fuge light, chaelo, trash can for salt water, backup pump, ATO tank + kit, internal overflow column box, heater bars, and R/O system? Am I missing anything else important to consider?
2. What hoses/tubing/fittings do I need? Can you recommend any videos for how to install them and where to drill the holes.
3. Generally speaking, how do I avoid flooding on power outages?
4. Do the backup pump and main pump need to be the same power? What is recommended?
5. I have a whole house water filtration system already. Is there a water test that I can do to see if the water is pure enough to not have to get an R/O system?
6. The previous owner gave me his canister filter. Is it worth incorporating into the system as an additional media filter? If so, what can I put in it that is low maintenance? Carbon?
7. Do I put any media in particular in the bubble trap?