new and lost!

futurefishguy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I am very new to the hobby of saltwater fish keeping ( and very confused!), haha! I have had a freshwater gold fish tank for about 7 years now and its getting old. Im really wanting to upgrade to a saltwater tank. right now i have a 10 gallon fish tank, but i was thinking about buying a 40 gallon. I have read tons of article on the web about saltwater tanks and it seems very complicated! Is a saltwater tank very complicated? And is a 40 gallon tank big enough? Also, on average how much does a 40 gallon salt water tank cost monthly ? Im tight on cash, haha!

soccerbag

Chalices did this to me!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lots of folks keep fish and corals in a 40breeder. But I will say that saltwater is NOT cheap. If you are short on cash, it may be a stretch. There are some shortcuts you can take in the this hobby, but proper lighting, alk / calcium supplements, fresh RODI top-off water, salt, test kits, etc are necessities. They all add up quickly. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of reefers who keep a tank on a tight budget, but it's not something to get into if you're trying to save money! lol.

It would be difficult to give you a monthly number as far as cost goes. It depends on a lot of factors. : )

And WELCOME to R2R!!!!!!!:bigsmile:

Captain Nemo

Look Ma, it's Nemo!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0