New Apex User

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

pelphrey

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New Apex user here! A local buddy of mine recently bought all of the equipment off of another reefer who was getting out. I got lucky enough to snag the Apex Classic, Break Out Box and Probes for a great deal. I went this route for a few reasons, the real-time access anywhere functionality, NOT having to buy a separate heater controller, the ability to program the skimmer outlet to delay start, no more kessil controller and the list can go on. I got it setup ASAP, and then upgraded an old router I had laying around with the DD-WRT firmware. I work in IT so this hasn't been the most difficult piece of equipment but there is a learning curve as I don't write code in my position. None the less the information I have found online has been great! Some of it is outdated of course (older version) and I am glad I jumped in when I did. Seems like email and SMS was a challenge in previous versions.

I've already been able to code my outlets and alarms, I ordered some float switches and they should be here Wednesday for the BOB. I need to dive into the virtual outlets and profiles next. I'll also be adding another EB8 to the system down the road. I'd like to have a light plugged into an outlet and a camera inside the stand, the objective is to turn the light on remotely and view the sump when I am away. I am also having a custom ATO container built with a float switch holder for low level alerts.

All in all, I knew I would get an Apex as it was on my list when I started this build. It just happened sooner than expected and really was great timing.