New Aquarium not cycling

hawkinsrgk

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everybody

I am new to saltwater aquariums and have started a new tank build. Title is "Randy's new tank build" in the North Alabama Reef Club forum.

I am having trouble getting the tank to cycle and hoping somebody can explain whats going on. I started the cycle (or tried to) about 3 weeks ago.

The tank is 180G with a 65G Refugium
Coralife Super Skimmer 220G with fishing string mod.
Return pump is a Mag 18
2 Max-Jets with the 1600 Mod and 1 Seiko 1600 for a total turnover rate of about 33.3 per hour.
160 pounds of Marco Base Rock and 40 pounds of live rock
Used R/O water with Reef Crystals sea salt. SG is at 1.023

For the first week I tried to start the cycle with the base and live rock. When I did not get an ammonia reading on two different test kits I added a shrimp to the overflow.

Now I'm at week 3, and have not seen an ammonia spike. About a week ago I got a very bad Brown Diatom issue. Not too concerned about this since everything I have read says this is just part of a cycle and it will go away. Just want to give as much information as possible. I have been running the skimmer since day one and still getting skimmate.

Ammonia - 0 Nitrite - 0 Nitrate - 0 Phosphate - 0.

Any opinions are appreciated.
Thanks
Randy

LOVE2REEF

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
id say shut the skimmer down for now.. and are you only testing for ammonia or are you also running nitrate tests?

LOVE2REEF

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
lol did see the Ammonia - 0 Nitrite - 0 Nitrate - 0 Phosphate - 0.. but ya id still say shut the skimmer down for now.. or maybe your already cycled and should start dropping some cash on some corals!!! good luck :bigsmile:

dakotasreef

Prestige Worldwide
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0