New BTA has unusual white mass/bald spot?

HippoMonstrosity

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently set up a new 13.5G nano tank with a 14000K light and live rock from a friend's established tank. I am still very new to the hobby, but my friend helped my pick out some corals as well as a red BTA. We introduced it at the far end of my tank (SG: 1.025) yesterday where the flow was pretty calm. It did fall off once but it climbed back up on the rock pretty quick. It has good color for the most part but since this morning it has receded pretty far into the rock and we noticed a weird bald/white patch that almost looks like disintegrating tissue. We didn't notice it yesterday and are unsure if we should be worried since the anemone looks well aside from that area. We did some target feeding and some food stuck. It reacted to the hermit crabb and pulled in. In addition it seems to have a good hold on the rock and its mouth is closed. Is this possibly an injury from transport or could it be a disease?

image1.jpeg

Last edited:

reef lover

It's a reef thing....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to r2r!
That is his guts/ messentrial filaments coming out.
This tank is not yet mature enough to sustain a nem and it might die in the process of cycling and maturing...can your buddy hold him until.the tank is ready?

OP
OP
HippoMonstrosity

HippoMonstrosity

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for confirming that! Unfortunately he cannot and there isn't a large saltwater community in my city to see if anyone could take him. I added some supplements and buffer earlier today and he seems to be doing ok. He's moved a little more and has opened up somewhat. I don't have any fish in my tank at this point so he shouldn't be disturbed. I'm gonna give him a few days and see if there are any changes to him. I don't wanna have to touch or move him unless I have to.

OP
OP
HippoMonstrosity

HippoMonstrosity

View Badges