New Fluval Spec/Evo V marine tank

kcbend

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, thanks for adding me to your site. Hopefully I’m not asking too much, but, can I get everyone’s opinions on what you would use to a new nano tank together?
I’m starting a fluval evo V tank and I’m basically new to marine tanks. I’ve had freshwater tanks for most of my life but only one marine tank(25yrs ago). I have the fluval evoV tank and I just 3D printed a media basket and I’d love to get recommendations on everything else that I’ll need. Like, are there better types of sand? Should I get live rock or rock that is dried out to minimize bad things(‍♂️) entering the tank, are there better return pumps than the stock one, do I need a protein skimmer(and is there a really small one that works), is there a really small wave maker that won’t overwhelm the small tank, when cycling should I add a fish as well as copepods and phytoplankton, and with all of the options out there is there an inexpensive light I can use with corals, anemones(opinions welcome on if I should put one in the tank as well) and a fish or two(I’d like small clownfish). Thank you all for any help/info with building this tank.

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1. Black sand has magnetic particles (can lead to scratching on glass); but it's very much personal preference. If you're going to have any sand-sifting fish the smaller the grains the better.
2. Based on the size of your tank I'd probably just use marco dry rock.
3. No, you don't need a protein skimmer for that size of tank.
4. There isn't really a small wavemaker for that size of tank - your best bet is to use a RFG nozzle or upgrade the main pump,
5. You should cycle first then add a fish. Bio-Spira will let you insta-cycle your tank. Add copepods and phyto after.
6. I believe the Evo V comes with a light, no? Yes, you'll need a light if you plan to have corals, anemones, etc.