New Tank Set Up Method?

CjAmaryllis

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all!
I am new to the hobby. I have gathered all of my supplies and started cycling. I have a 40 gal breeder. I have a plan for post cycling, but I want to know if it's a good idea.

My main goal is biodiversity. Once I have just nitrates, I want to add macroalgaes, phytoplankton, and Coralline algae. I will probably let the algae go for about a month or two, adding some copepods in there at some point.

Once I feel good about that, I will slowly start adding my invert team, especially as a way to control nuisance things if possible. Once they're established, then fish and corals, but I'm thinking that will be 4-5 months into things. I plan to only do softies and LSP. I don't care about SPS much at this point.

I started with dry rock and sand. I like the idea of having lots of beneficial organisms, and species interaction (ie one species keeps another in control). Is there other things I could be adding to promote biodiversity? Is there anything wrong with my plan?
Thank you!

1112-425XL

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Could add live rock.

20230604_203550.gif

Upvote 0

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all!
I am new to the hobby. I have gathered all of my supplies and started cycling. I have a 40 gal breeder. I have a plan for post cycling, but I want to know if it's a good idea.

My main goal is biodiversity. Once I have just nitrates, I want to add macroalgaes, phytoplankton, and Coralline algae. I will probably let the algae go for about a month or two, adding some copepods in there at some point.