New tank today!

AquariumDani

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

My name is Dani. I am a 22 year old female who just started her first tank 2 hours ago! I am a full time graduate student (4 class, 4 hours, 4 days), and have a 25 hour fellowship. I will be graduating in May 2019. The tank is 20G with about 30lbs live sand and 25 lbs live rock. Once the sand settles, I will be starting the cycling process!

Future aspirations:
I’ve already started thinking fish (I know, early. But excited!):
-Pair of clown fish (basic :p)
-1 Firefish
-Clean up crew (undecided. Figured the nearby LFS would help me when it’s time to add these guys) And I’ll be sure to add them first!
-I eventually want to move from FOWLR to a reef tank. Can I have fish and corals in a 20g?
-I am hoping by August I will be upgrading my tank. I am still debating if I want to gradually get bigger (20g, 55g, 75g, 100g) or take the leap in August and go to 100g.

If you have any tips moving forward, please let me know!! As well, if you have favorite equipment or set ups - I’d love to know about them!

hdsoftail1065

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R Dani!!! Early congrats on your Grad school completion! I remember how I felt when I was just a couple of months from finishing, totally burned out! :D

Let's see some pics of that 20 gallon!

RazorD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Congrats! As said above, fish and corals are fine in that size (assuming filtration, lights, etc). I ran a 6 gallon nano for a few years for my son’s tank.

As for the upgrading, I’d say do it once and go to the size you want. No sense in wasting time and money on small gradual upgrades imo if the ultimate goal is 100g (as an example). Just my opinion. Good luck

IslandLifeReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
giphy.gif

Welcome to R2R Dani! :)