New to hobby - 29 gallon biocube

coral-craving

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all! I just recently purchased a new biocube and thought I'd would join a forum and document it's progress. If anyone has any suggestions or questions feel free to let me know. I'm new to the hobby so any help is much appreciated.

My current set up is a 29 gallon biocube which I immediately discarded the hood of and made rimless. I purchased a full spectrum 165w LED light fixture and made a bracket to hold it. I also upgraded the pump head to a Maxi-Jet 1200 and installed a Koralia 850gph circulation pump. I added 28 lbs of live rock and 30 lbs of live sand, and for filtration I'm running Chemi-Pure Elite, Purigen, De-Nitrate Biomedia, and a pad of Poly Filter placed on top of two pieces of Eshopps sump foam. I'm also currently running an Eheim Jäger 100w heater. In the very near future plan on adding an Intank media basket and the Tunze 9002 protien skimmer along with the upgraded Intank cup as well as purchasing and ATO system.

Since the first of the first pieces of livestock I plan on adding to the tank (aside from my CUC) is a Blue-Spotted Jawfish I made a DIY screen top (due to the fact that they are notorious jumpers). I went to Lowes and purchased a window screen kit and shaped it to fit the tank. Other livestock I plan on adding aside from a variety of corals, and after the clean up crew, are two Ocellaris Clown Fish (one black and one orange), a Fire Shrimp, a couple of Dartfish, and possibly a Hogfish (any suggestion on a specific/favorite type would be much appreciated).

The tank has now been cycling since last Thursday and I'm beginning to get a little ancy! I've been testing my parameters twice daily and I'm hoping to add my CUC on Thursday, but I'll wait longer if my levels aren't where they need to be. I'll post pictures and updates along the way. Feel free to offer any advice that you may have.