New to R2R/ Blue Hippo Tang Question

dollisamacon1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, My name is Lisa. I'm pretty new to reefing. I currently have a 200g tank with a variety tangs, clownfish, wrasses and goby's that are all thriving. I've attempted to add a Blue Hippo Tang 3 times because the grandchildren really love to watch "Dory" swim. Each time, the tang (purchased from 3 different local stores) has died within a few days. The water was taken to our local store and all was fine.

The grandchildren have been searching the tank for "Dory" and I have not had the heart to tell them of her demise. Can someone please, please help with what is needed to know before I purchase a 4th Blue Hippo tang?

Thanks in advance

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
welcome aboard the r2r board! hello from PA!

ideally, the first thing you want is if the source you're getting the blue hippo tang from is trustworthy. do they have a quarantine protocol? are their fish wild caught? can you physically watch as they feed the fish to see if its eating? are there any observable traits/behaviors that insinuate an unhealthy fish (ich, velvet, etc)? do you trust your LFS to maintain/clean their water testing system (assuming they use the spintest) and provide you with accurate results? in the 3 instances you've added this fish into the tank, have you seen any other fish chase/bully the hippo? stress is a silent killer!

OP
OP
D

dollisamacon1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0