New to Saltwater Aquarium

Ronnie Burda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to Saltwater Aquarium and have a question about algae? In the pics attached shows my live rock in the DT. What I’m wondering is what kind of algae I have. The thick darker burnt red color algae started out as a reddish maroon color and has to be scraped off and comes off in little sheets. What kind of algae do I have? Is it good or bad? The tank has been up setup and running for about 3-4 months. The first pic is what it looked like after about a month. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
IMG_1144.JPG
IMG_1212.JPG
IMG_1214.JPG
IMG_1215.JPG
IMG_1216.JPG

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That’s looks more like a black sponge. Highly invasive

Last edited:
OP
OP
R

Ronnie Burda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What I took off so far I had to scrap off. Should I remove all the rocks and clean them off with a soft brush then replace them or add some thing in to take care of it. Only clean up crew I have is 5 hermit crabs, 1 emerald crab, and 5 snails. This is all in a 76 gallon tank.

saltyhog

blowing bubbles somewhere
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! Glad you're here!

I think that's cyano. If you can increase your flow to the affected areas that would help. Siphon/blow it off as possible. What is you lighting type/schedule/spectrum? Decreasing your lighting schedule might also help.

I would also consider adding some more rock unless you have some biological filter media in your sump

OP
OP
R

Ronnie Burda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! Glad you're here!

I think that's cyano. If you can increase your flow to the affected areas that would help. Siphon/blow it off as possible. What is you lighting type/schedule/spectrum? Decreasing your lighting schedule might also help.