First saltwater tank

BlackCl0ud

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey eveyrone hoping I could get some guidance. I’m brand new to saltwater tanks and started small. I have a 10G with a small pair of clowns and 2 Ceriths. The tank is 2 months old. It recently had this algae bloom and wanted to know if this is the normal “ugly” phase or if it’s something else. Also can anything else be added to help with the control? I weekly dose fluval enhancer with 10% water change. Nitrates are at 5ppm, Nitrites 0, Ph 8, Ammonia 0.

IMG_1007.jpeg IMG_1008.jpeg

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Looks like normal "ugly phase" to me, but more knowledgeable members will advise you better.

Since you don't yet have corals or photosynthetic organisms, you can turn your lights off, and that brown stuff will likely die right back. It will more or less run its course altogether in a few weeks. again, that's what I see, others may offer further advice.

Good luck with your 10 gallon!

Last edited:

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
By the way, what did you use for sand? Is that the CaribbSea Hawaii Black?

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi thanks for the advice, I will keep the lights off and yes that’s correct for the sand. Any drawbacks with that?
I have always liked that sand, and I have four bags in storage that I haven't had a chance to use yet. I have zero issues with it, I think it looks great. I will mention that some have said that it can really scratch glass, so be extra careful, especially if if you're using a magnetic scraper near your sand bed. And some would say the grain size is a bit large/course, allowing for detritus to drop down in the sand and decay. But a lot of people have used this sand with success, and I for one think it looks great in your tank :)

OP
OP
B

BlackCl0ud

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%