New to School

LW_BrownBio

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All, I am looking at creating a marine tank for my classroom. I would like to be able to have my students be able to observe a variety of organisms in the marine environment. I am new to maintaining a marine aquarium, but I know the animals. What equipment would you suggest to get started in the classroom? I have a 55Gal Tank that I would like to use, but I have other sizes available.

What species would you suggest once the set up is primed? I would especially like to include echinoderms.

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!! The width of the 55g can make it a challenging size (especially for reef keeping), but could be an interesting provide good viewing for the urchins, starfish, etc. A 40b may be another size to consider for a lagoon style tank.

ShepherdReefer

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My wife and I set up a saltwater tank in her classroom many years ago when she was teaching. We used a 40-gallon and had only a few fish in the tank and the coral idea for the clown to host will be a great idea. One of them we still have the clown fish. The 40-gallon was easy to keep up with.

New&no clue

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 30 gallon softy tank at work. I would stick to simple corals and fish as you will most likely be gone from the tank all weekend. I would also recommend a sump or AIO (all in one) instead of HOB (hand on back) equipment which can leak and if you're not around to catch it can make a mess.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Welcome to the R2R community

StlSalt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I teach high school.

That's great there's a lot of chemistry in the water too. Just in case more than biology is being taught.