New to this but I have a dogface puffer question!!

Marine_Mama

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had my DFP for about a month and he has been totally happy. The past 2 days I noticed he has been looking like he was covered in sand. Like Ich, but a lot. I heard somewhere that puffers couldn’t even get ich but I am ignorant to the subject. The parameters of my tank are all normal, aside from my salinity taking a strange spike from 1.025ppm to 1.027ppm. I have corrected the levels since but I am worried for my puffer. Any tips or advice?!

I tried to attach an image, if it posted, it is of him resting on top of a power head. He does this often and I believe he enjoys it lol

E29EC8FE-C1E9-4918-8620-CBAFE4542585.jpeg

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
giphy (1).gif
#WelcometoR2R
Was the puffer quarantined, are there any other fish in with it, was something introduced into the tank recently? I'm no expert, but it may be velvet with how covered he is. Lets ask @HotRocks and @4FordFamily what they think

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
Marine_Mama

Marine_Mama

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can upload a picture tomorrow of whole tank when my lights are on, he is resting now that the lights are off and I don’t want to stress him out. He is in a 30gal, I KNOW he needs more room and he will be getting it soon. None of the other fish/eel have this on them.

Salinity is 1.025ppm
pH: 8.0
Nitrite: 0.25ppm (higher than normal)
Nitrate: 40ppm
Ammonia: 0ppm
Calcium: 460ppm

MSB123

Someone out there put something smart here.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0