New to torch corals ...

Justin Hartmann

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the whole coral thing. Though it does not look dead I am just not sure if it is happy or needs to be moved? I will attach two pictures, one a week ago (the feather dusters open) and one today. Any tips, advice and overall care information would be great thanks. My perameters are all pretty good except nitrates are a little high but im working on that. torch2.jpg torch.jpg

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What you have is actually a hammer. Very similar to torch corals except not nearly as aggressive. In general euphyllias such as torch, hammer, frogspawn are more sensitive than other lps, they like moderate flow and lighting, not directly under light and midway/lower in the tank out of direct flow. They will take chunky food such as mysis/brine. Good luck with yours! It looks good so far. I can tell you euphyllias are very enjoyable corals, I love my hammers.

OP
OP
Justin Hartmann

Justin Hartmann

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well see I already learned something, thanks for the ID. I can see where the tips are a little longer not ball shaped. Makes sense. Thanks for the care info. I did not know if the rock on the right side would stunt growth or affect how it acted.

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh and your welcome :). That's what I love about this hobby, always something new to learn.

OP
OP
Justin Hartmann

Justin Hartmann

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do have one from when the tank was younger a couple months ago. It all looks the same now though. The hammer is on the rock in the center (left side where the shelf is). Probably a terrible spot.

full tank.jpg

Mombo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hahah that pic looks crazy with all the blues turned up. The camera has had a bit to much to drink.