New valintini puffer fish VERY CONCERNED!!! White dots

Topdog8327

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How is everybody doing? I am new to the dw aquarium biz. But I have done my research very extensively And everything has been going great. But I am concerned about my new valintini puffer fish I picked up from my LPS he has white dots on his head and a couple fins. I tried to look online and see if it was normal but the different threads and posts I have seen haven't givin me any piece of mind because I'm still convinced he has ich. Please let me know, since I have never actually seen ich, if this is just a pattern the fish may have or if this is indeed ich. Any feedback if greatly appreciated
image.jpg

Naiad

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is not normal. I would agree with ich from the photo.

OP
OP
Topdog8327

Topdog8327

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I thought ich was supposed to be around the gills tho? He is fully active and not acting weird at all either

Naiad

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ich starts in the gills but when there is no more room the parasites will go wherever they can. The fact that he is still eating is good. You can probably save a fish if you catch an illness in this stage.

OP
OP
Topdog8327

Topdog8327

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I should be quarantining him since this will most likely carry to my other fish right? I haven't purchased one yet so I'm pretty stuck I have a blue coral angel, 2 tomato clowns, and scopas tang for fish and 5 crabs 1 snail, and a cleaner shrimp for invertebres. I have seen treatments online that say 100% invertebre safe. I don't know if that's the right way about it though.

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0