Newbie help for Dino’s

Scubanurse

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello from big D! I’ve been in the hobby a tad under a year. Recently upgraded my tank from 75 gal to Red Sea 750. I have found online interaction so intimidating as a female reefer, so many of the reefers are so good at tech, I’m not so much. I’m a nurse and love science though. Love learning too! It looks like I have my journey cut out for me. I just discovered this new “ugly stage” that I thought was diatoms is in fact Dinoflagellates. I posted on Mack’s Dino page to ID. I’ve been told it’s Prorocentrum and add silicates. Can you guys chime in?
Running A bag of carbon in the cage under my ReefMat and reduced light to 5 hours, dosed 1 har of Tigger pods before I knew it was Dino’s, added Micobactor 7 last night.
I’ve found 2 dead snails so far. Not many corals in the tank but the frogspawn, mushrooms, zoas are all tolerating. Fish seem normal.

Parameters:
Phos. 0.05
Nit 25 (started bio pellets a month ago at half dose) not sure if I should add, stop altogether or maintain
Ph 8.0-8.1 (dropping)
Alk 7.15
Cal 3.4
Mg 1200
Sal. 1.025
Temp 77.4
Running a 40W Aqua UV through the sump @650 (this was plumbed for me by my LFS) I am pondering trying to figure out in display and re routing the soft tubing but that task seems daunting. I’m not opposed to hiring help though. But it seems pointless if these are solely sand dwellers.
IMG_6058.jpeg
IMG_6052.jpeg

See my snails all “running for the hills? Lol
IMG_6053.jpeg

Seven Year Nap

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi and Welcome,

I'm relatively new as well, so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Adding bacteria, copepods, and UV seem like the right things to do. You might just need more time for the bacteria and copepods to build a population and start eating/competing with the dinos.