Newbie here

TheDean

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My fiance has a very nice 130 gallon tank. I bought her some Radion lights which were just installed yesterday. But I've heard her say that she would like a better heating system and also the Apex system. Looking to surprise her with these two items but while researching them, I really don't know what I am looking at. I am very new to this hobby. Any help?

AllSignsPointToFish

"No Longer The Guy Without FaceBook"
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, with aquarium controllers, it's all about how much control you want to have. I have an Apex Classic, but it was not the top-of-the-line version. I do not have ORP or salinity. I just run temperature and pH probes.

I use the controller to run the heaters, pumps, and lighting cycle. I also use it (out of convenience) to turn off my return pump and skimmer during water changes. The ApexEL looks like a nice compromise without going for the full-blown system with optional upgrades if she wants that in the future.

Do you know what kind of heater she currently runs? She can use the Apex as the heater controller if you get her the Apex :)

OP
OP
TheDean

TheDean

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure of the current heater. But I do know that she wants to have complete control of everything via her phone.

AllSignsPointToFish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure of the current heater. But I do know that she wants to have complete control of everything via her phone.
You can do that with the Apex. I can do anything I need to from my phone or tablet (even though I prefer to use the desktop).

OP
OP
TheDean

TheDean

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Which Apex should I look at? Seems like there are a few of them.

AllSignsPointToFish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Which Apex should I look at? Seems like there are a few of them.