Newby fish questions

jaxteller007

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I'm new to the hobby and have a couple questions about fish.

Our tank came with 2 clowns, 2 blue damsels and 1 sailfin tang. It's a 75 gallon tank. Everything I've read so far about tangs, I know I'll have to upgrade (unlikely for at least a year) or re home him. How do I know when he's too big for the tank? Right now he's not super active with all the new stuff going on. Just generally stays on one side where he's favorite hiding spot is. I'll try and get good pics today but he seems pretty small.

The blue damsels are my bigger concern right now. The larger one we thought was not going to survive the move. He did not do well for a couple days and stayed hidden. Then he became a little more active and would chase other fish away that came near his boat. Now he's just a super ******* and will not leave the smaller damsel alone. He doesn't really mess with the other fish, just the damsel. We have a 10 gallon hospital/quarantine tank set up and were going to put the smaller one in there for a couple days to give him a break, use some stress coat, etc. But he's not so injured that he's slowed down. He's super quick and as soon as I get the net in the water just goes straight to the bottom and starts darting in and out of the rocks. Should I continue to try and get the small one out of the tank or not worry about it? If I need to get him out, any tips on catching the little booger? I worry about stressing the other fish out especially after the move and water change and all that. Case in point, last night ol Captain Jack (sailfin) went almost completely black while I was trying to catch the little damsel.

MagicMarker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I'm new to the hobby and have a couple questions about fish.