• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Nick's 345G Build

OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Hah! No.
After seeing how the previous grow out, I didn't want to put too much effort in the aquascape this time around. I also don't have that 48" front to back to play with and even though it's a peninsula tank, the other side isn't exactly viewable. 17" from the wall. Just enough for me to get a step ladder in there. I never like my tank to be up against a wall.
So overall, the aquascape was done much quicker.
 
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
It took me a couple days to fine tuned and dialed in the position, interval, and power of the two 6255s to not have the scum film at the top surface and have the two pumps on one side. Still have to see how the corals respond but very happy with the fact that the pumps are on one side and getting the kind of surface flow on the other end of the 84" tank.

DFCDF10E-14A2-4D2F-9927-106CB6D2FCD2.png


410302D3-BDA5-4383-898F-E892F6B29630.png
 
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Got some wiring done.
I need to put another outlet up where the tank is for the lights and pumps. I got 20A dedicated to the fish area downstairs and will put another 20A for the lights and pumps upstairs. I probably can just use the 15A in the room but I don’t want to turn on the vacuum and the lights goes out.
64AAE4F9-4340-4ADA-A858-EAD88938EAF1.jpeg

Brought up 5 Cat6. One will be live internet. 2 will be used as PAB connection to my Profilux. 2 are for the Tunze pumps connection to the Profilux.
The built in controller on the Tunze is pretty good but the Profilux is much better controlling the pumps with lots more features. However, it’s in a RJ11 jack and I only have RJ45 and Cat6. Had to make my own modified version of the cable that only me will understand
0234202E-2D01-4333-AD52-FFF1BC519ADD.jpeg


Upstairs Wiring is done. The controller will go downstairs and all I need is the PAB connection and the Tunze connection to the controller.
562728FC-963D-4FAD-B07F-73C42252B760.jpeg
 
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Some progress. Mainly, the major work on the tank is finished. I can safely say that I can take a 3 weeks vacation comfortably. Just make sure I have the autofeeder filled up and my ATO filled up.

The major work can be seen here. Everything is in except for my dual channel head for the other Masterflex for continuous waterchange. I also want to stabilize the water parameters a little longer before turning on the continuous waterchange.
_Z7D7199.jpg
_Z7D7197.jpg
 
Corals.com
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Everything has been transferred from the frag/temporary tank and more fish added. Lots of fish. I don't advise anyone doing what I did.
Next step is to cover up the stand and the side of the tank. I need to let my credit card cools off bit. Lol
Working from home is very dangerous to the wallet.
_Z7D7173.jpg


_Z7D7174.jpg


_Z7D719.jpg



_Z7D7175.jpg


_Z7D7176.jpg


_Z7D7193.jpg

_Z7D7191.jpg


_Z7D7193.jpg
 

YankeeTankee

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
384
Reaction score
907
Looking great! Excited to see it grow out. Which lens filter are you using?

I've been considering a duel head MF for CWC too, just worry if one of the tubing lines clogs while I'm away my tank will either be empty or flooded when I get back.
 

mfollen

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 14, 2013
Messages
1,416
Reaction score
899
Location
Chicago, IL
Amazing set up all around. Bravo. Love that no spot Achilles and the acrylic hood... taking notes here!
 
Corals.com
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Looking great! Excited to see it grow out. Which lens filter are you using?

I've been considering a duel head MF for CWC too, just worry if one of the tubing lines clogs while I'm away my tank will either be empty or flooded when I get back.
I don’t use lens filters. I shoot in RAW and change the white balance to what I think I see in reality.
Yeah, putting a dual head on and walk away might result in an overflowed tank or dried up pumps. You have to put safeguards around this type of automation. ie. A float in the sump telling the CWC pump to turn off if the water level is too high. A float in your fresh mixed water that shuts on the CWC when the bucket is low.
Don’t trust any automation without a couple layers of safeguard.

I’m also putting a float sensor on the display tank to shut off the return pump if for some reason, all the drains in the overflow clogged. The chance of that happening probably close to zero but the tank IS on my living space now and I can’t have water overflowing the tank.
 

sdreef

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
49
Reaction score
73
Awesome set up! The lights look great and really clean. I was interested in your thinking on the switch to LEDs after your experience with the MH/ T5 combo. Great photos. Excited to see things grow out
 
OP
this is me

this is me

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
546
Reaction score
1,735
Location
MA
Awesome set up! The lights look great and really clean. I was interested in your thinking on the switch to LEDs after your experience with the MH/ T5 combo. Great photos. Excited to see things grow out
It's too early to tell but from the 10 weeks I ran them over the temporary tank, I was content with the result.
I do think LEDs came a long way. You see many tanks that are thriving with them so why not yours.

So think about this right. My last tank of 72"x48"x24 running 3x250 Radiums with 4x80W T5s. That's over 1000W blasting away for 8 hours. I did not test PAR on it since I didn't have a par meter. Was very happy with colors and growth. Arguably, I needed more light to light up the side.
The 5 Radions(with diffusors) on this 84"x34"x28" running at 35% which according to the Profilux amp reader and calculation, that's about 60W each. That's 300W total. Less than what I ran with the T5 alone in the previous tank. My par is 300-320 at the top most frag on the rocks. 250 mid tank, and 200 on the sand and it's very evenly lit.
I need to make this work lol.
 

What's the first thing you do when you see algae forming in your tank?

  • Panic and freak out

    Votes: 36 6.8%
  • Identify it as best you can

    Votes: 155 29.5%
  • Test your water

    Votes: 170 32.3%
  • Pull it out

    Votes: 64 12.2%
  • Order more clean up crew

    Votes: 51 9.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 50 9.5%

Online statistics

Members online
638
Guests online
2,575
Total visitors
3,213
CWT Aquatics - Acrylic Sumps, Tanks, and More!
Top