Noob needs plumbing advice

dR3ws3r

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I am very new to the reefing world, and dove in with a pretty large first tank (obviously not the monster many here have), an AquaForest 790, ( 155 gallon display). I've been spending all my time researching rather than doing unfortunately, but I want to work on plumbing. The tank comes with a pre-plumbed set of pvc pipes, but I'm thinking about putting in a manifold. I've watched a few videos and get the general premise, in creating a main line with several valves for connecting various reactors or UV sterilizers. What I was kind of wondering about was why everyone dumped the exit of the reactors back into the sump? Is this more of a simplicity thing? I wondered if anyone has tried a second "outlet manifold" where all the reactors pump back into before going back into the display tank. Otherwise, you are kind of recirculating the reactor outlet water back into the sump and through the reactor again. I do realize it is not all going back through the reactor, but seems kind of inefficient for lack of a better term. Is an exit manifold where all the reactors flow into too complicated or too expensive? I imagine you would probably need to double up on valving, which is a significant expense.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

The sump they provide and the cabinet, make finding space for reactors quite a pita too. The cabinet has two areas separated by a plywood wall. The sump fits pretty snuggly in one area, but the other is probably mostly for controllers and electrical equipment, which I understand is pretty good to keep seperate :). Makes finding an area to put the reactor vessels very challenging.

Finally, is it feasible to drill in my sump to change the ATO section into a refugium? Do people often drill and reconfigure their sumps?

Thanks,

Drew

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,